Grow Up, Mommy.

It’s happening. My baby is growing up. Right before my very eyes. Well, actually just beyond my line of sight. I’m on the periphery trying to figure out what’s going on.

This morning marked the second day of first grade. As I usually do, I lay in bed waiting for the alarm, which was set to go off at 7, and dreading the morning routine. Drag myself out of bed to go do the same for a reluctant and whiney child. This is not fun even after I’ve had my coffee.

At 6:50, the man rolled out of bed to get ready for work. I asked him to turn on the light in my daughter’s room to let her know it was time to get up. He then informed me that she was not there. Already dressed, she was in the living room putting her shoes on. No assistance needed, not even to tie her laces. She had even brushed her hair all by herself.

Did someone switch my kid out for a different model?

The morning routine went so smoothly that we were able to leave the house in plenty of time to get to school early. I was not even sure if the building was open to the kids yet. So I decided to circle through the neighborhood just to be safe.

We came back around, and where there had been no one a few minutes earlier, now the principal and a parent volunteer were on hand to direct the traffic that was starting to arrive. I pulled up and rolled down the window to confirm that we were in the right place at the right time. As I did, I heard a voice behind me cry, “Moooommmy!” I could almost hear her eyes rolling along with this embarrassed exclamation.

Wow. I didn’t think that would happen for some time yet.

But it is happening. Already at the age of 6, my child knows more than I. She made this quite clear as I was packing her lunch this morning. She knew exactly which bag she wanted to use, how to situate the cold pack so that there was room for her sandwich, and where in her backpack to put her lunch bag. I was given detailed instructions on how to do all of the above because apparently I am not skilled enough in the packing of a lunch.

And it’s not just packing a lunch I am unskilled at either. For a long while now, my kid has been more adept at other things as well. Take starting a movie, for example. There is a proper sequence to follow when turning on the television and inserting the DVD into the PS3. I always get it wrong, and she never fails to correct me.

I’m beginning to wonder who’s the adult in this relationship. Maybe I’m the one who needs to be going back to school.

At least then, I could be a part of this growing up process.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Kid Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grow Up, Mommy.

  1. adminoutlook says:

    My 9 year old thinks he’s smarter. He prefers to ride the bus and when I had to take him to school, his response and you have to imagine this with his eyes rolling, “This is going to be so embarrassing.” At the time I innocently thought it would be embarrassing because the carpool kids weren’t considered the “cool kids”. Then it hit me, almost an entire school term later, he was embarrassed because he was with his mom. He now looked like a baby. Hello, he was only 8.

  2. It’s that funny “stupid disease” you’ll have until she’s probably 25, if you’re lucky! Then after that, the wow factor of being an adult and such kicks in and then you return to normal intellectual levels, lol!

Leave a Reply

