Bad Boy, Bad Boy, What Is a Mother to Do?

At some point in a woman’s life, she may find herself attracted to a ‘bad boy’. It’s certainly understandable why. He’s hot, and she wants to feel the heat. So, she’ll throw caution to the wind and let him sweep her off her feet. True, in the end, she’ll be dropped on hers, but even though she knows he’s a player, she wants to be played.

It should come as no surprise, then, when a girl stupidly chases after what she can’t keep. Unless, that girl is in the first grade. Oh boy, that is bad.

During the first week of school, my daughter has already experienced heartbreak. She had been previously involved (as much as a girl at her age can be) with this boy in kindergarten. I thought we were done with him at the end of the year. But no, one night last week, she announced at dinner that she was again his girlfriend. When I asked why, she said, “He talked me into it.”

No, you don’t have to do a double take. My 6-year-old admitted to being taken in.

Toward the end of the week, my little girl told me she was sad. When, I asked why, she made a heart with her hands and then broke them apart. She said this is what the boy did to her. She told me that he already had another girl.

This is still the first grade we’re talking about, right?

I, of course, told her that she didn’t need a boy that was not nice to her. I don’t think this message stuck, however. This became clear at my parent’s house this weekend.

We were all at the dinner table when I began telling them about the boyfriend situation. I wasn’t very far into the story when I noticed a telling sheepish look on my child’s face.

“Don’t tell me you got back together!”

“Yes,” she said with a sigh.

Sigh.

This morning, she didn’t want to go to school because she didn’t want to see the boy. She recognizes that he is no good for her, but she can’t seem to bring herself to get rid of him for good.

Did I mention this was bad?

I want to fix this for her, but I know that I can’t. She is an independent being who will make her own choices in life. And she’s got to learn how to deal with conflict both within herself and with others.

Still, she’s in the first grade! What am I supposed to do with this bad boy?

Gallery | This entry was posted in Kid Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bad Boy, Bad Boy, What Is a Mother to Do?

  1. downhillto30 says:

    This makes me nervous for what goes on in my classroom that I don’t know about! I love your blog!

    • zomelie says:

      Thanks! It’s good to know I have a fan.

      As a former teacher, I know that all kinds of crazy things happen when the teacher is not looking. I’m not sure if her teacher is aware of what’s going on, but I’m certainly keeping a close eye on the situation!

  2. This post reminded me of my own daughter. She is now going into 2nd grade, but when she was 3 (yep, that young) the boyfriend/girlfriend thing hit her preschool. She proceeded to have the same boyfriend for the rest of preschool. Throughout this time period, I constantly checked with her and reminded her that “She was still young and that she did not need to tie herself down quite yet.” She has remained single through Kindergarten and 1st. When I ask about boyfriends now, she just tells me that she is keeping her options open. 🙂

  3. sapphy03 says:

    I would’ve never thought that such heart breaks happened at this young age :S Personally I am of the opinion that children at this age should be kept away from such things and led more into education so that their talents can be unleashed.

Leave a Reply

