Why Halloween Was Not a Go-Go

These are the costumes we were planning on wearing this year:

We have been planning to dress up in this manner for over a month. As soon as the costumes hit the shelf, we (and by we, I mean I) decided on our theme (the 60s), and began gathering the items we needed (matching dresses for me and my older daughter, a pair of peace sign earrings converted into matching necklaces, white go-go boots for me, a peace sign pajama set and leather vest for the baby, and hippie buttons to pin on the vest). All of these items were not cheap. The white go-go boots for my costume (not pictured, but totally awesome) were $25. So you can understand my frustration when I learned yesterday morning that my older daughter wanted to dress up as a witch (a costume she and her father had devised for their weekend Halloween fun).

What? I don’t have anything (besides my wicked personality) that goes with that!

As I contemplated this change of plan, I remembered that we had a dragon costume from a few Halloweens ago stored in the top of the closet. Problem solved. We would do a Harry Potter theme instead. This would have worked brilliantly except that the dragon costume is too big for the baby.

Hmmm…the only other thing that would fit and be warm enough is her Sooner mascot outfit (purchased by her father at the beginning of football season). So I decided to forgo my affinity for theme costumes and have a witch and a horse. (I would just go as a frustrated mother.)

Wait! If the baby is going to be a horse, I can be a cowgirl. I’ve got the stuff for that.

I rummaged through my closet and found a pair of dark jeans, a white shirt, and a suede jacket. To accessorize, I found a scarf a friend had given me before either of us had children and a hat from the dress-up box. After adding a belt to serve as a mock holster, I was ready to go. Never mind that the witch would be the odd one out. She’s the one that decided to be witchy about my original plan anyway.

Here is the final result:

In the end, I have learned a couple of valuable lessons about parenthood and planning:

  1. Don’t invest too much in one option. Your clients are liable to change their minds at the last minute, and often, the resources at your disposal are all you need anyway.
  2. Don’t worry if the picture doesn’t turn out the way you planned. It never will, and sometimes, it will be better than what you hoped for. (Note that I am not fussing over the sippy cup I was not able to wrestle away from the baby.)

I hope everyone had a Happy Halloween!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Adventures in Motherhood and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why Halloween Was Not a Go-Go

  1. Ashley says:

    Everyone looks adorable. Maybe you can wear those go-go boots next year. Or we can have a costume Christmas! 😉

  2. Spectra says:

    Sounds fustrating. But Halloween for kids, it’s something they’ll always remember. Too bad she opted out of a unique group getup and went with the very common witch. I was a witch for several years in a row as a kid, not because I wanted to be, but because the other kids got their pick of the good costumes first, and I got stuck with the witch. *sniffles*

    • zomelie says:

      I should say that it wasn’t a total waste. We did go to a Halloween party dressed in our go-go gear the week before. And, now that I think about it, I am glad I didn’t have to walk the streets wearing the boots. That would have killed my lower back!

  3. We have the easiest theme this year. My 7-year-old is a vampire and the rest of us are wearing vampire bite tattoos! Works with any costume/outfit.

    Yes, I really am this lazy.

    • zomelie says:

      “Lazy” is a relative term. I have several mom friends who made their kids’ costumes, and seeing the results of their work made me feel lazy for buying ours. But, I have neither the time nor the skill to accomplish such a feat.

  4. That witch hat is fantastic! Parenting: An exercise in flex-and-bend. You do it gracefully. I probably would have thrown a fit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

