A Christmas Craft for the Craft-Impaired

Need a last-minute stocking stuffer idea? Have the DIY desire but lack the skill to create something worthy of presenting to another human being? Don’t mind possibly setting your house on fire or singing your eyebrows? Then, I have the perfect craft project for you.

Those of you who know me personally know that I am craft-impaired. Without a kit and a detailed set of instructions, I cannot produce anything worthwhile. And most of the time, even with detailed instructions, the final product winds up in the garbage. This is why this craft project is perfect for the likes of me. It starts out with garbage.

Here is what you will need:

  • various empty snack-sized chip/cracker/cookie bags
  • a microwave oven
  • craft magnets (I found mine in the craft aisle at WalMart.)
  • hot glue gun
  • home and health insurance policies that cover acts of stupidity (I claim no responsibility if you cause damage to yourself or your property.)

Now, with all of these materials and a slight sense of daring, you are ready to go. Lay one of the bags flat in the center of the microwave. Close the door, and zap it for no more than five seconds. (You will actually hear a zapping sound similar to the noise of an insect meeting its fate with a bug zapper.) The effect on the bag will be much like that of a Shrinky Dink, though more instantaneous and with sparks. Let the shrunken bag cool for a minute before removing it from the microwave.

Next, take one of the magnets, and place a dot of hot glue on one side. Attach the magnet to the back of the shrunken bag. Let cool and voila! You now have a unique stocking stuffer that is sure to be a conversation starter. I plan on giving some to my dad (who taught me the bag-zapping trick this weekend) and possibly my brother-in-law (who once gave my sister a potato chip refrigerator magnet.) A word of caution, though: Don’t tell the kids how you created these masterpieces.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Random Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Christmas Craft for the Craft-Impaired

  1. Spectra says:

    This actually looks fascinating. But I don’t have a microwave to try it out 😦 Plenty of magnets, though. Maybe I will hijack someone elses microwave while visiting them. That way, I don’t have to worry about the insurance thing.

    • zomelie says:

      One thing I forgot to mention is to make sure you have room freshener or a scented candle to cover the smell. (This would be especially important if you are planning on hijacking someone else’s microwave!)

Leave a Reply

