An Activity a Day Keeps Boredom Away

School is out for the summer, and I’m in a panic. What on earth am I going to do with both kids at home all day?

Early Bird is easy enough to entertain. Give her a pile of books or blocks, and she’s good to go. Even better, throw in a balloon or a ball, and that will carry her over until nap time.

Omelette is a different story. Any time she has a day off, she is constantly asking me, “What can I do?” None of my suggestions are good enough. (“You can go clean your room” is never well-received.)

No, she wants to watch movies all day. I want her to find something more constructive to do. She then wants me to be her activities director. I want someone to show me where in the motherhood contract this job description appears. It’s probably in the fine print.

Whether I signed up for the job or not (I’m still looking for a loophole in the contract), I am, by default, in charge of entertainment, and I can either rise up to the challenge and save everyone a lot of frustration, or I can sit back and let boredom take over. I know what I have to do.

Yesterday afternoon, I began searching Pinterest for ideas on how to keep the kids entertained on those long summer days. I also sat Omelette down with a pencil and paper and had her make a list of the things she wanted to do this summer. With her list and some fresh inspiration, I set about writing down different activities to stave off boredom. My goal was to have one activity for each weekday in the month of June. Some of the activities are indoors, and some are outdoors. Some will keep us at home, and others will take us to different places around town. After I compiled my list, I wrote each one on a scrap of paper, folded it up, and put it in a tin for safekeeping. Starting on Monday, we will draw a new activity each day.

 

Supposedly an apple a day keeps the doctor away. I really hope the same holds true for this plan. There’s no one else in line for my job.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Kid Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

