Summer Fun: Day Nine

I would most certainly be lying to you if I said that all was fun and games at my house. If you are a regular reader of this blog, you already know that. So, it should come as no surprise that we hit a couple of rough patches during today’s planned activity.

It started even before the day really got started. True to her name, Early Bird was up early. Earlier than usual for her. Throughout the morning she made it clear to the rest of us that the proverbial early bird may catch the worm, but said bird is not a sweet little songbird.

Because she got up early, I put her down for an early nap. She wasn’t having that. After two hours of repeatedly returning her to her bed, swatting her twice, and parking myself in the hallway to make sure she didn’t make an escape attempt, she was finally asleep. Then, all it took was for Roostler to crack the door open, and the nap came to an early end.

Despite my frustration and her cranky state, I decided to go ahead with the plan and make our way to the mall for the afternoon, hoping there would be enough activity to distract us both from our moods. Poor Omelette soon found herself caught in the middle.

It happened at the Disney store in front of a display of princesses. The evil queen in me made her wretched appearance. Omelette wanted a Mulan doll. I was fine with that, but I wanted her to choose the smaller one. I reasoned with her that the larger one had a larger price and that we already had enough larger stuffed dolls. I also wanted to take advantage of the buy-two price (which applied to both the larger and smaller dolls), and the smaller dolls had a bigger non-princess selection for Early Bird to choose from.

Omelette didn’t see reason. She only saw that the Mulan doll was the same size as her Sleeping Beauty doll. I told her it was the smaller doll or nothing, and she persisted in her argument for the larger one. That’s when I lost it. Loudly and embarrassingly. I don’t even remember what I said, but I must have been somewhat scary because a woman who had wandered over to our corner of the store made a quick escape to another area.

In the end, we settled for the smaller doll, and Early Bird chose a Dug doll from Up. Then we left the store to cool off with some frozen yogurt.

On the way home, Omelette and I talked about what happened and where we were each wrong. I asked her if she still had fun. She said that she had. Then, I asked which of the Summer Fun activities has been her favorite so far. She said that she really enjoyed the art day. She asked me what my favorite has been. I told her that my least favorite was today.

We continued our reflection on the day, and the conversation moved from the things that went wrong to the things that went right. Playing in the play area. Taking pictures in the photo booth. Eating frozen yogurt. And sharing an open conversation on the way home.

The day may not have gone perfectly. A day with kids rarely does. However, I don’t think it could have ended more perfectly.

I think we’ll all sleep well tonight. (We’re going to need it because tomorrow we go to the Science Museum!)

Gallery | This entry was posted in Kid Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

