Summer Fun: Day Sixteen

I have to admit that I am looking forward to the end of the Summer Fun project I have undertaken. My job as activities director for a 7-year-old will soon come to an end. My parents will return from their vacation and take Omelette off my hands for a few days. Then, it’s two weeks of Performing Arts camp followed by a week of vacation with her dad. So with only one kid to entertain (one that is easily impressed, mind you) the month of July will be like a vacation for me.

The job has been fun, but like most jobs, it is work, and by the end of the day, I’m out of energy. I have a new respect for the woman who dealt with twenty Omelette-sized people between the hours of 8 and 3 this past year. Of course, she is much younger than me and has no children of her own, so that perky smile of hers is a bit easier to come by.

All right, enough of that. Let’ get to the activity of the day. Though the plan was to play dress-up, Omelette was more interested in the bird Roostler had rescued from the neighborhood cats this weekend. She spent a good portion of the day bird-watching. Surprisingly, my very active child voluntarily sat still for an unprecedented length of time as she drew pictures inspired by our new feathered friend. Good thing, too, because I was feeling a bit like something the cat had dragged in for most of the morning.

As I started to feel a bit better, I gathered some old Halloween costumes, pieces of costume jewelry, an assortment of hats, and items from my closet for what became an impromptu fashion show/photo shoot. Of course, Omelette was the more willing participant, at least in the picture-taking. Early Bird enjoyed being dressed up, but she wouldn’t stay still long enough for me to get many good shots.

As a non-girly girl, playing dress-up is not my first choice of entertainment. But I found myself enjoying the parade of outfits and the girlish giggles that emitted from my living room. If there is one thing I can say I have taken from the Summer Fun experiment, it’s a newfound appreciation for the frills I normally dismiss. So I may be losing steam, but it’s worth it. And when I start doubting myself and the job I’m doing as a mom, I don’t have to look very far to see that it’s a job worth doing.

 

Gallery | This entry was posted in Kid Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Summer Fun: Day Sixteen

  1. You are a awesome mom. I have a great deal of respect for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

