Summer Fun: Done

We actually finished our month of Summer Fun last week, but I have put off writing about it until today for various reasons, the most important of which is sheer exhaustion. It was, after all, a busy month!

For the last day of our Summer Fun project, I surprised the kids with a trip to Chuck E. Cheese, one of Omelette’s favorite places (and one of my least favorite). This was the first time we had been since Early Bird learned to walk, and I soon realized that taking two very independent children to a place reeking with overstimulation was probably not the best idea. It turned out to be a confusing game of cat and mouse — me chasing after Early Bird, who was interested in climbing on everything and Omelette having to track the two of us down each time she wanted to play a new game. (I held on to the game tokens.)

On the plus side, there were not very many people there on a weekday afternoon, so it was not too difficult for us to keep up with each other. We soon spent our tokens, earned our tickets, claimed our prizes, and left for home (where we spent the rest of the afternoon watching cartoons while Mommy dozed on the couch).

All in all, I think the Summer Fun project was a success. It gave Omelette something to look forward to each day, and it kept me from hearing the dreaded “I’m bored.” Still, I’m glad the month is over because it wore me out. Omelette will enjoy the rest of her summer at Performing Arts camp and on vacation with her dad. That leaves me with Early Bird, Elmo, and the couch.

I feel a nap coming on now…

Gallery | This entry was posted in Kid Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

