The Mother Hen Lines Her Nest

The past few days have seen a flurry of activity. In preparation for Hatchling’s arrival, we are in the process of changing the sleeping arrangements in our house. Omelette will move to what is now the office/junk room, and Early Bird will finally move out of our room and into her own. That will put Hatchling in the room with me and Roostler until she is old enough to move in with Early Bird.

In a house that is over 50 years old and less than 1000 square feet, the new arrangements will take some work. There is lots of repair and reorganization to be done. This past weekend saw both.

The room Omelette currently occupies used to be completely paneled, and when Roostler began tearing it down, he found a crack in the wall underneath. So the weekend repair job was to replace that wall.

Inspired by his sudden ambition to finally finish what he started weeks ago, I decided to start working on my own project –planning the girls’ room decor.

For the little girls’ room, I decided to go with a zoo animal theme. I had Omelette’s old crib bumper just sitting in a box, so I pulled that out and started cutting. A few paint-stained fingers and a callous later, I had these:

The next day, the girls and I headed to Hobby Lobby to shop for a poster project I had in mind for Omelette’s room. The idea was mine, but the design was all hers. Here is what she came up with:

There is still much to do before these decorations will go up. And after completing the sea life poster, I started on the reorganization. I had craft supplies everywhere, so I gathered those up and started putting them away. They normally reside in various places all over the junk room, and I’ve been needing to sort through and put them all in one place for a while now. So I that’s what I did.

Next, I turned to my closet and pulled out the multiple pairs of jeans that either have holes in inopportune places or just will never fit again. I grabbed the scissors and started cutting them into strips to be used for I don’t know what yet. I’m thinking throw pillows for Omelette’s room. And of course, throw pillows need something to fill them, so I turned back to the crib bumper and cut out the batting. Now the only problem is that I don’t own a sewing machine. And if I did, I wouldn’t know how to use it.

So what’s with the sudden interest in projects I normally shy away from? Well, I think it’s obvious that I’m nesting. And since I missed the opportunity to do so with Early Bird, I’m making up for lost time. Honestly, I’ve never seen myself like this. I’m usually the kind of person to look at what needs to be done and shrug it off because it’s too big a job and I wouldn’t get it right anyway. That’s the problem with being a procrastinating perfectionist.

Yet, in spite of myself, I am considering making throw pillows. The kids are probably wondering who I am and what I’ve done with their mother. Well, watch out, girls. Today it’s throw pillows, tomorrow the world!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Random Musings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Mother Hen Lines Her Nest

  1. that’s awesome I’m glad you are having a good time doing it also. I’ve been trying to get back into my crafting , can’t wait to see your finished product 🙂

Leave a Reply

